For immediate release: January 18, 2024 (24-009)
Contact: DOH Communications
Public inquiries: Health Systems Customer Service 360-236-4700
OLYMPIA -- The Washington State Department of Health has revoked or suspended the licenses, certifications, or registrations of the following health care providers in our state. The department has also immediately suspended the credentials of people who have been prohibited from practicing in other states.
The department’s Health Systems Quality Assurance Division works with boards, commissions and advisory committees to set licensing standards for more than 80 health care professions (e.g., dentists, nurses, counselors). Information about disciplinary action taken against medical doctors and physician assistants can be found on the Washington Medical Commission (WMC) website. Questions about WMC disciplinary actions can be sent to firstname.lastname@example.org.
Information about health care providers is on the agency’s website. Click on “Health Care Provider Lookup” under the “Find it Fast” section of the Department of Health website (doh.wa.gov). The site includes information about a health care provider’s license status, the expiration and renewal date of their credential, disciplinary actions and copies of legal documents issued after July 1998. This information is also available by calling 360-236-4700. Consumers who think a health care provider acted unprofessionally are also encouraged to call and report their complaint.
In December 2023 the secretary of health suspended the registered nursing assistant license of Devan Nicole Wright (NA61075075) pending further legal action. In August 2023, Wright was placed on the Department of Social and Health Services long-term care, abuse, and neglect registry for financially exploiting a vulnerable adult. Wright is prohibited from being employed in the care of or having unsupervised access to vulnerable adults.
In December 2023 the secretary of health suspended the certified nursing assistant license of Rachel Ann Lough (NC60600432). Lough may not petition for reinstatement for at least two years. Prior to reinstatement, Lough must pay a $250 fine and complete 10 hours of continuing education in the areas of patient rights, law and ethics, communication, and anger management. In August 2023, Lough failed to respond to the statement of charges of physical abuse of a vulnerable adult patient.
In December 2023 the Dental Quality Assurance Commission indefinitely suspended the dentist license of Andrew T. Lai (DE00009768). Lai failed to comply with the terms and conditions of a 2022 modified order by failing to make fine payments.
Out of State
Colorado: In December 2023 the Board of Nursing (formerly the Nursing Commission) summarily suspended the registered nurse license of Jesus Samora Vera (RN61315051) pending further legal action. In August 2023, Vera relinquished his Colorado registered nurse license after being found to have failed to meet the nursing practice standards of care.