Apply for a License
- Apply online
The Washington State Department of Health requires that only the applicant or licensee may complete an attestation for an application, or for continuing education. This is a legal attestation. Completion of the attestation by anyone other than the applicant may constitute a reportable felony offense. The Department of Health can take action against people for perjury or for making a false statement they know to be false.
For further information please see:
- Continuing Education; WAC 246-12-180; How to prove compliance
- Initial and renewal credentialing of practitioners; WAC 246-12-020; How to obtain an initial credential
Washington State law authorizes the Department of Health to obtain fingerprint-based background checks for licensing purposes. This check may be through the Washington State Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. We may require this if you have lived in another state or if you have a criminal record in Washington State. This would be at your own expense.
You must pay the application fee at the time you apply. You may use a credit or debit card with a VISA or MasterCard logo, or pay by ACH/E-Check. Please make sure your address on the payment information screen matches the address your financial institution has on file for you. This fee is non-refundable. There is a convenience fee to apply online.
If we need additional documentation, we'll notify you by email.
There are additional items you may need, in addition to your application:
- Dental Anesthesia Assistant Supervisor's Attestation (PDF)
- Dental Anesthesia Assistant Supervisor Change Form (PDF)
- Credential Verification (PDF)
If you have questions, contact our Customer Service staff at 360-236-4700.
Online Application Instructions
See the online application video.
Online application instructions are on our website. Online applications are accessed through SecureAccess Washington (SAW) security portal. You'll need to add the Department of Health Online Application Portal service to access the online applications. The first time you add the service, you'll be prompted to answer several questions to verify your identity. The questions will match the name and address you provide with the existing public record information. Because the questions come from public record, you need to provide a complete address and your full legal name as it appears on your driver's license or birth certificate. You may find you have to enter a former address, especially if your address has changed recently (within the past one or two years) to get the right questions that pertain to your identity. If don't have sufficient information in the public record to verify your identity and aren't currently credentialed by the Department of Health, then you will need to submit a paper application, as you won't be able to access the Online Application Portal.
Once you have completed the process you will receive an email with your pending credential number, or you can look on Provider Credential Search. Refer to this credential number any time you contact Department of Health or submit paperwork.
- Apply on paper
The following forms are required for completing the application process. Please download and print forms.
Dental anesthesia assistant
- See fee information below
Non-Refundable Fee Type Current Fee Amount Fee Effective June 1, 2023 Application $100 $100 Renewal $75 $85 Late renewal $50 $50 Expired reactivation $75 $75 Duplicate $15 $15 Verification $25 $25
- See certification requirements below
Education and training
Applicants for dental anesthesia assistants must successfully complete a commission-approved training course provided by one of the following dental anesthesia assistant training programs:
- The Dental Anesthesia Assistant National Certification Examination (DAANCE) through the American Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (AAOMS);
- The Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Assistants course provided by the California Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons (CALAOMS); or
- Completion of substantially equivalent education and training approved by the commission
- Resuscitation Group – Vancouver, WA – Approved June 1, 2018.
A certificate of completion or transcript is required.
Applicants for dental anesthesia assistants must successfully complete training in intravenous access or phlebotomy, which includes:
- Eight hours of didactic training that includes:
- Intravenous access;
- Technique; and
- Risks and complications;
- A certificate of completion, letter, or transcript that provides a course description is required.
- Hands-on experience starting and maintaining intravenous lines with at least 10 successful intravenous starts on a human or simulator/manikin.
- A certificate of completion, letter, or transcript which provides a course description is required.
The supervisor must be an oral and maxillofacial surgeon or dental anesthesiologist who holds a valid dentist license and general anesthesia permit and must be in good standing. The supervisor attestation form must be signed by the supervisor. Dental anesthesia assistants must keep a current supervisor on file with the department. You can have one supervisor or multiple supervisors and can change a supervisor at any time.
State license verification
Applicants must list all states where they do or did hold credentials. This list must also include when the applicant has applied for a credential, even if a credential was not granted. The jurisdiction where the applicant is or was credentialed must complete and submit the verification form (PDF). The jurisdiction must send the completed form directly to the department.
Personal data questions
Each applicant must answer the personal data questions. An appropriate explanation and required documentation must be sent with positive answers. If there is a positive answer to the professional liability claims history question, the applicant must send an explanation of the nature of the case, data and summary of care given, copies of the original complaint, and the settlement or final disposition. If pending, applicant must indicate status.
Additional information/documents required
- Dental anesthesia assistants must have current certification in healthcare provider basic life support (BLS), advanced cardiac life support (ACLS), or pediatric advanced life support (PALS) certification. A copy of the certification is required.
Process for approving/denying applications
We finish final review for approval after a credentialing specialist verifies that the application is fully complete, and complies with requirements in chapter 18.350 RCW and chapter 246-817 WAC. We complete background checks and make sure applicants have submitted required fees. Credentialing supervisors and lead workers have the authority to approve routine applications. The disciplining authority may conduct further review if the credentialing supervisor can't verify the applicant meets all requirements. We'll formally notify applicants of a denial. Those applicants may request a hearing to appeal the decision.
Dental anesthesia assistants must renew their certification every year. Credentials expire on the credential holder's birthday and may be renewed within 90 days of the expiration date.
A courtesy renewal notice will be mailed to your address on record. You must keep your address current with us. Any renewal postmarked or presented to the department after midnight on the expiration date is late.
Continuing education requirements
Dental anesthesia assistants must complete 12 hours of continuing education every three years. Continuing education must involve direct application of dental anesthesia assistant knowledge and skills. Acceptable continuing education is listed in WAC 246-817-445.
- See renewal information below
Is your contact information current?
In order to serve you better, we must have your correct mailing address in our system. This is especially important because we mail your courtesy renewal notice and updated credential to the address on file. The U.S. Postal Service doesn't forward Department of Health mail. If your contact information isn't current in our system, please complete and submit the contact information change form. If you have questions, contact our staff members.
You must notify the department of any changes in your supervisor(s). Notification of the change must be submitted on the approved form (PDF) prior to you accepting delegation from another supervisor.
You may not practice unless the department has a listing of your current supervisor(s).
How to renew
If you have questions about the renewal process, see our Frequently Asked Questions.
Additional Licensing Information
Helpful Tips and Information
The commission encourages practitioners to review and consider the following these helpful tips and suggestions.