Laws and Recommendations

 

Notifiable Conditions

Legal Reporting Requirements for STD

Chlamydia and Gonorrhea

  • Health care providers: notifiable to local health jurisdiction within 3 work days
  • Hospitals: notifiable to local health jurisdiction within 3 work days
  • Laboratories: notifiable to local health jurisdiction within 2 work days
  • Local health jurisdictions: notify the Washington State Department of Health Sexually Transmitted Disease Services Section via the PHIMS-STD system within 7 days of case investigation completion; summary information required within 21 days for all reported cases.

Chancroid, Granuloma Inguinale, and Lymphogranuloma Venereum

  • Health care providers: notifiable to local health jurisdiction within three work days
  • Hospitals: notifiable to local health jurisdiction within three work days
  • Laboratories: no requirements for reporting
  • Local health jurisdictions: notify the Washington State Department of Health Sexually Transmitted Disease Services Section via the PHIMS-STD system within 7 days of case investigation completion; summary information required within 21 days for all reported cases.

Herpes

  • Health care providers: initial genital and all neonatal infections are notifiable to local health jurisdiction within three work days (WAC 246-101-101)
  • Hospitals: no requirements for reporting
  • Laboratories: no requirements for reporting
  • Local health jurisdictions: notify the Washington State Department of Health Sexually Transmitted Disease Services Section via the PHIMS-STD system within 7 days of case investigation completion; summary information required within 21 days for all reported cases.

Syphilis

  • Health care providers: notifiable to local health jurisdiction within three work days
  • Hospitals: notifiable to local health jurisdiction within three work days
  • Laboratories: notifiable to local health jurisdiction within two work days, specimen submission required to State Public Health Laboratory or Public Health, Seattle and King County laboratory
  • Local health jurisdictions: notify the Washington State Department of Health Sexually Transmitted Disease Services Section via the PHIMS-STD system within 7 days of case investigation completion; summary information required within 21 days for all reported cases.

Washington Rules for STD- WAC & RCW

The links below go to Washington State Legislature webpages.