Trauma System


Contact customer service | More EMS resources

Trauma Facility Designation

The Washington State Department of Health has authority to designate trauma services. The department designates five levels of acute care trauma services, three levels of pediatric acute care trauma services and three levels of trauma rehabilitation services. Every three years, hospitals may apply and compete for trauma service designation. All applicants complete a written application. Levels I, II, and III adult and pediatric acute care applicants also receive a clinical on-site survey. Based on an assessment of the written application and the results of the on-site survey, the department selects the most qualified applicants. Below are links to the trauma designation application, designation schedule and other resources.

Trauma Designation


Trauma designation administrator
Trauma clinical consultant
EMS and trauma section manager