Tobacco and Vapor 21 Video
Engrossed House Bill 1074 goes into effect on January 1, 2020, when it will become illegal to sell tobacco and vapor products to anyone under 21.
Watch former Secretary of Health John Wiesman's Tobacco and Vapor 21 Video Message on YouTube.
Why did Washington pursue this change?
Raising the age of sale for tobacco and vapor products to 21 will reduce the number of youth who develop a lifelong addiction to nicotine. Most kids get nicotine products from those in their social network who can legally buy them. Tobacco and Vapor 21 closes off social circle access to nicotine, and in turn, the health consequences of tobacco. Including Washington State, tobacco and vapor 21 is currently the law – or is due to go into effect – in 18 states as well as D.C. and Guam.
Washington state is experiencing a vaping epidemic among youth. In 2018, about one in five 10th graders and one in three 12th graders reported using vapor products (Healthy Youth Survey).
- Tobacco and Vapor 21 – Here are some things 18-20 year olds should know about the new law:
- How Health Care Providers can Support Tobacco and Vapor 21 (PDF)
Ready to quit? Want help?
Two free resources are available to help any Washington resident quit smoking or vaping:
- Call the Washington State Tobacco Quitline at 1-800-QUIT-NOW or
- Access a smartphone app at www.doh.wa.gov/quit.
Information and Resources for Tobacco and Vapor Product Retailers
- Retail signage-RCW 70.345.070: Required signage must be posted on cigarette vending machines and at each location (i.e. check stand or cash register area) where tobacco and vapor products are sold.
- Signs are available in multiple formats and languages on the Washington State Liquor and Cannabis Board (WSLCB) website. To order, call the WSLCB Enforcement Customer Service Line at 360-664-9878 or email EnfCustomerService@lcb.wa.gov.
Information and Resources for K-12 Schools and Higher Education Institutions
Read Secretary Wiesman's letters to K-12 schools (PDF) and institutions of higher education (PDF). The letters contain important information on the new Tobacco and Vapor 21 law as well as resources to support students and staff aged 18-20 years of age who use tobacco or vapor products. The letter and its referenced materials serve to assist institutions in providing a supportive and resource-available atmosphere for students and staff who are interested in quitting.