Ordering a Stillbirth Record

In 2021 the Legislature passed House Bill 1031 that creates a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth. The Department of Health will start offering this new certificate October 1, 2022.

The death of a child is devastating for families and communities. The Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth provides a formal acknowledgment of the birth of the child. The Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth format will look similar to a birth certificate and is issued for fetal deaths of 20 weeks or more gestation. The certificate contains information on the child and their parent(s).

Who can get the certificate?

Only the person who gave birth can get the Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth.

When can I order the certificate?

The Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth will be available starting October 1, 2022.

Where can I order the certificate?

Once the new certificate becomes available, you can order a Certificate of Birth Resulting in Stillbirth from the Washington State Department of Health, any Washington State Local Health Department, or through our only authorized vendor, VitalChek.

What is required to order the certificate?

Once the new certificate becomes available, you must complete the following steps:

  • Submit an application with required pieces of information.
  • Provide valid government identification or alternate identification.
  • Provide documentation to prove your qualifying relationship if your identification above does not have the same information listed on the stillbirth record.
  • Pay the applicable fee(s). Fees start at $25 per certificate. Other fees may apply depending on ordering or shipping method.