Licensing Information

Apply for a License

Substance use disorder professional

Apply online

The Washington State Department of Health requires that only the applicant or licensee may complete an attestation for an application, or for continuing education. This is a legal attestation. Completion of the attestation by anyone other than the applicant may constitute a reportable felony offense. The Department of Health can take action against people for perjury or for making a false statement they know to be false.

For further information please see:

Washington state law authorizes the Department of Health to obtain fingerprint-based background checks for licensing purposes. This check may be through the Washington State Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. We may require this if you have lived in another state or if you have a criminal record in Washington state. This would be at your own expense.

You must pay the application fee at the time you apply. You may use a credit or debit card with a VISA or MasterCard logo, or pay by ACH/E-Check. Please make sure your address on the payment information screen matches the address your financial institution has on file for you. This fee is non-refundable. There is a convenience fee to apply online.

If we need additional documentation, we'll notify you by email.

You may need additional items, in addition to your application:

If you have questions, contact our Customer Service staff at 360-236-4700.

Getting started

Online Application Instructions

See the online application video.

Online application instructions are on our website. Online applications are accessed through SecureAccess Washington (SAW) security portal. You'll need to add the Department of Health Online Application Portal service to access the online applications. The first time you add the service, you'll be prompted to answer several questions to verify your identity. The questions will match the name and address you provide with the existing public record information. Because the questions come from public record, you need to provide a complete address and your full legal name as it appears on your driver's license or birth certificate. You may find you have to enter a former address, especially if your address has changed recently (within the past one or two years) to get the right questions that pertain to your identity. If don't have sufficient information in the public record to verify your identity and aren't currently credentialed by the Department of Health, then you'll need to submit a paper application, as you won't be able to access the Online Application Portal.

Once you have completed the process you will receive an email with your pending credential number, or you may look on Provider Credential Search. Refer to this credential number any time you contact Department of Health or submit paperwork.

Apply on paper
Fee schedule

WAC 246-811-990 – Fees

Non-Refundable Fee Type Fee Amount
Application
Initial certification
$260
$295
Total: $555
Renewal $300
Late renewal penalty $150
Retired active renewal $115
Retired active late renewal penalty $60
Expired reissuance $115
Duplicate certificate $10
Verification of credential $25
Examination fee Pay exam company
Retake examination fee Pay exam company
Continuing competency

Continuing Education and Enhancement Plan FAQs

Substance Use Disorder Professional Enhancement Plan (PDF)

Substance use disorder professional trainee

Apply online

Before applying online, review the following information about which you'll be asked in the application:

  • You must have a Social Security number to apply online. A U.S. Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) or a Canadian Social Insurance Number (SIN) may not substituted. If you do not have a Social Security number, you must complete a paper application (PDF).
  • If you will answer ‘Yes' to any of the following questions, you must apply with a paper application (PDF).
    • Do you have a medical condition that in any way impairs or limits your ability to practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety? "Medical condition" includes physiological, mental or psychological conditions or disorders, such as, but not limited to orthopedic, visual, speech, and hearing impairments, cerebral palsy, epilepsy, muscular dystrophy, multiple sclerosis, cancer, heart disease, diabetes, intellectual disabilities, emotional or mental illness, specific learning disabilities, HIV disease, tuberculosis, drug addiction and alcoholism.
    • Do you currently use chemical substance(s) in any way which could impair or limit your ability to practice your profession with reasonable skill and safety? "Currently" means within the past two years. "Chemical substances" include alcohol, drugs, or medications, whether taken legally or illegally.
    • Have you ever been diagnosed with, or treated for, pedophilia, exhibitionism, voyeurism or frotteurism?
    • Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of controlled substances? "Currently" means within the past two years. "Illegal use of controlled substances" is the use of controlled substances (e.g., heroin, cocaine) not obtained legally or taken according to the directions of a licensed healthcare practitioner.
    • Have you ever been convicted, entered a plea of guilty, no contest, or a similar plea or had prosecution or a sentence deferred or suspended as an adult or juvenile in any state or jurisdiction?
    • Have you ever been found in any civil, administrative or criminal proceeding to have:
      • Possessed, used, prescribed for use, or distributed controlled substances or legend drugs in any way other than for legitimate or therapeutic purposes?
      • Diverted controlled substances or legend drugs?
      • Violated any drug law?
      • Prescribed controlled substances for yourself?
    • Have you ever been found in any proceeding to have violated any state or federal law or rule regulating the practice of a healthcare profession? If “yes” please attach an explanation and provide copies of all judgments, decisions and agreements.
    • Have you ever had any license, certificate, registration or other privilege to practice a healthcare profession denied, revoked, suspended or restricted by a state, federal or foreign authority?
    • Have you ever surrendered a license, certificate, registration, or other privilege to practice a health care profession, in connection with or to avoid action by a state, federal or foreign authority?
    • Have you ever been named in any civil suit or suffered any civil judgment for incompetence, negligence or malpractice in connection with the practice of a healthcare profession?
    • Have you ever been disqualified by the Department of Social and Health Services (DSHS) from working with vulnerable people?
  • If you will answer ‘No' to all of the above questions and have a Social Security number, you'll be able to apply for your credential online.
  • By applying online, you're declaring that you're obtaining the education and experience required to receive a substance use disorder professional (SUDP) credential.
    • All of the experience must be under and approved as defined in WAC 246-811-049.
    • Substance use disorder professional trainees (SUDPT) may provide substance use disorder assessment, counseling and case management to patients consistent with their education, training and experience as documented by the approved supervisor.
      • The first 50 hours of any face-to-face patient contact must be under direct observation of an approved supervisor or a substance use disorder professional.

      • An approved supervisor or designated certified substance use disorder professional must be onsite and provide direct supervision when a SUDPT is providing clinical services to patients until the approved supervisor documents in the employee file that the SUDPT has obtained the necessary education, training and experience.

Washington state law authorizes the Department of Health to obtain fingerprint-based background checks for licensing purposes. This check may be through the Washington State Patrol and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. This may be required if you have lived in another state or if you have a criminal record in Washington state. This would be at your own expense.

You must pay the application fee at the time you apply. You may use a credit or debit card with a VISA or MasterCard logo, or pay by ACH (electronic check). Please make sure your address on the payment information screen matches the address your financial institution has on file for you. This fee is non-refundable. There is a convenience fee to apply online.

If we need additional documentation, we'll notify you by email.

You may need additional items, in addition to your application:

We have an online application checklist (PDF) to help with the process. You can print it for reference purposes and reminders.

If you have questions, contact our Customer Service staff at 360-236-4700.

More information about applying online is on our Frequently Asked Questions webpage.

Getting started

Online Application Instructions

Online application instructions are on our website.

Once you've completed the process you'll find your pending credential number on Provider Credential Search. Refer to this credential number anytime you contact Department of Health or submit paperwork.

Additional Website Links

To receive important information by email about Substance Use Disorder Professionals, please select the green “Subscribe” button at the bottom of the page.

Apply on paper
Fee schedule

WAC 246-811-990 – Fees

Non-Refundable Fee Type Fee Amount
Application $110
Renewal $90
Late renewal penalty $50
Expired reissuance $50
Duplicate certificate $15
Certification letter $15

Additional Licensing Links

Contact and connect

Contact us | Email customer service | Phone: 360-236-4700 | Submit public disclosure request (lists and labels)

Select the “Subscribe” button to get important information.