Washington State Safe Kids Coalition

Safe Kids logo

Who We Are

Local, National, Global

Safe Kids Washington is a network of local community coalitions serving 19 counties across the state to prevent the No. 1 killer of children – unintentional injury.

Our mission is to create safe and injury free communities in Washington State with a focus on children age 0-19 years old. We believe the best way to share health and safety with a community is through its local community members.

Safe Kids Washington is a member of Safe Kids Worldwide, a global network of over 400 coalitions in over 30 countries focused on preventing unintentional childhood injury. The state office for Safe Kids Washington is based at Washington State Department of Health and collaborates with other state leaders across the US to develop and share best practices in injury prevention with local coalitions.

What We Do

Preventing childhood injuries at home, at play and on the way

Our efforts focus on:

  • Child and teen passenger safety
  • Pedestrian and Bicycle Safety
  • Recreation and sports safety
  • Medication safety and poison prevention
  • Drowning prevention and water safety
  • Fire, burn, and carbon monoxide safety
  • Infant safe sleep
  • Safe firearm storage

How We Do It

Local leaders create sustainable coalitions

We use a local community-based coalition model. Community members work with a local Safe Kids coordinator on topics of child safety that are important and relevant to that community.  The local coordinator connects the community to safety resources and helps plan community awareness events and safety trainings. Community members learn and help spread new skills and knowledge across their community.

You can find additional resources, videos and tips to keep your family safe at Safe Kids Worldwide. Find and reach out to your local coalition from the list below.

Location

Coordinator

Phone

Email

Benton-Franklin Counties

Jozelle Prieto

(509) 460-4214

injury.prevention@bfhd.wa.gov

Chelan-Douglas Counties

Eveline Roy

(509) 670-8914

er.roy@frontier.com

Clark County

Kanessa Thompson

Weston Perkins-Clark

(360) 608-4136

(564) 208-4272

Kanessa.thompson@gmr.net

Weston.Perkins-Clark@gmr.net

Central Basin

(Grant, Adams, Lincoln, and Ferry Counties)

Alison Mitchell

(509) 681-0579

tzmalison@gmail.com

Inland Northwest (Whitman County)

Meghan Johns

(509) 397-6280

Meghan.johns@whitmancounty.net

Kitsap County

Debby Oliver

(253) 948-8774
(360) 307-4044

debbydoliver@gmail.com

Lower Columbia

(Cowlitz County)

Briana Harvill (Lead)

Brandi Ballinger (Co-Coordinator – Kelso)

Sarah Hoskins (Co-Coord-inator – Longview)

(360) 270-2723

(360) 575-6280

(360) 442-5501

safekidslc@gmail.com

Brandi.Ballinger@c2fr.org

Sarah.hoskins@ci.longview.wa.us

Pierce County

Closed

 

If interested in being a lead agency for Pierce County contact – safekidswashington@doh.wa.gov 

Seattle South King County

Fran Kwak

(206) 744-4967

fkwak@uw.edu

Northwest (Skagit, Island, Whatcom Counties)

Martina Nicolas

(360) 708-2454

martina@northregionems.com

Snohomish County

Shawneri Guzman

(425) 551-1254

sguzman@southsnofire.org

Spokane County

Renee Witmer

(509) 474-2491

Renee.Witmer@providence.org

Thurston County

Danielle King

(360) 786-8717

Ext 107

Danielle.King@ccacwa.org

Walla Walla

Debi Allessio

(509) 529-2130

deborah.allessio@chs-wa.org

Washington State Office

 

(360) 236-2863

safekidswashington@doh.wa.gov