Whatcom County Shellfish Protection Districts - General Information and Funding

General Information

Shellfish Protection District Name

Drayton Harbor Shellfish Protection District, Portage Bay Shellfish Protection District, and Birch Bay Shellfish Protection District



Websites and Links

Geographic Boundaries

All three Whatcom County SPDs are the entirety of the watershed.

Primary Point of Contact

Name: Erika Douglas

Agency: Whatcom County

Phone: 360-676-6876

Email: edouglas@co.whatcom.wa.us

Year and Reason Created

Drayton Harbor: 1995 - 1,010 acres of shellfish beds downgraded from Approved to Prohibited.

Portage Bay: 1998 - 150 acres of shellfish beds downgraded from Approved to Prohibited.

Birch Bay: 2009 - 145 acre downgrade from Approved to Prohibited around the mouth of Terrell Creek.

Members and Stakeholders


Advisory committees for each of the districts were created through the Whatcom County Shellfish Protection District Ordinance, Code 16.20 (PDF) last updated during 2012. The committees allow for nine members with a direct interest in the district and two tribal representatives (Lummi Nation and Nooksack Tribe). All advisory committee members are appointed by the county council for four year terms.


Non-appointed participants include: agency representatives from Whatcom County Public Works, Whatcom County Health, Whatcom County Planning and Development Services, Whatcom Conservation District, City of Blaine, Port of Bellingham, Washington State Department of Health, Washington State Department of Agriculture, and Washington State Department of Ecology.

Funding Sources


Grants such as Pollution Identification and Correction (PIC) also supplement shellfish protection budget.

Agency Funds

No RCW 90.72 funds are dedicated in Whatcom County.

Taxes and Fees

County flood tax funds one position for shellfish related projects in Whatcom County and $85,000 goes towards shellfish projects each year.

Loans (including Craft3)


More About Whatcom County Shellfish Protection Districts

Other Shellfish Protection Districts